Archinect
anchor

Where to learn about the $$ side of architecture

washingtonian

I'm an intern a little ways into my career, but I never had a class in school dealing with business/legal side of the industry- types of contracts, etc. and am beginning to think that would be useful. Anyone have some good links where I can learn a bit about this myself? I'd just like to have a working knowledge of these (admittedly boring) subjects as I move forward. Thanks!

Oct 3, 14 12:20 am
Carrera

You are making a wise move – doing self-study on the realities of practice. I recommend reading the Blog posts of http://www.entrearchitect.com/category/podcast/ and learning about the business of architecture. Architecture is 50% architecture and 50% business and even though some listening are employees all need to understand the business to get ahead.

Oct 3, 14 12:44 am  · 
 · 
sixty7ArchitectureRd

washingtonian,

Buy copy of "The Business of Design" by Keith Granet. It's concise and explains things with graphical clarity.

Comments From a Spec Writer is a very good source. Like learning from a sage co-worker in the office.

Oct 3, 14 12:54 am  · 
 · 
geezertect

Also, get your hands on a basic business law textbook.  Even though much of it doesn't seem directly related to architectural practice, it will give you an overview of contract law, etc.

Oct 3, 14 9:28 am  · 
 · 
toosaturated

Try 'The Architecture Student's Handbook of Professional Practice' 

Oct 3, 14 9:35 am  · 
 · 
chigurh

12% cost of construction

Oct 3, 14 10:29 am  · 
 · 
3tk

take a contract law class (every accredited engineering program has one).  I got a fair amount off "Construction Contracts" by Hinze and "The Legal and E-commerce Environment Today" by Miller & Cross (my text from law class).