Archinect
anchor

when do you let them know that you are looking for a job?

April14

So it's been a couple of years running around trying to make it happen after graduation from MArch. This weekend I found there's a young firm I like, and chatted with its principal during his building's walking tour. I mentioned that I'd like to visit his office and he said welcome anytime as the studio is really chill! So I am going to write an email tomorrow for visiting. Eventually, I need to let him know about the following and be impressive in stead of intimidating. Please someone point direction in terms of when and how to bring them up? ( e.g.in initial Email? During the visit? Latter on after the visit?)

1. I'm looking for a job in architecture.

2. I have thorough understanding of North American urban development issues and good experience in urban design, which can help with his practice marketing socially conscious solutions.

3. I am a lawyer turned planner and planner turned architect. So creative and logical at the same time, also surprisingly young for this combination. I would be great at convincing the city or interest groups.

4. I'm Chinese from China but not like lame at all (yeah I face reality)Spent the past 10 years trying to understand North American social economical condition and people's value system as well as taste in visual arts through study in planning and architecture.  I feel the results are significant.

5. All in all, smart cool deep thinking female though small talk is not my strongest suit from the get go ( not retarded but English is not mother tongue)

Sep 29, 14 12:39 am
Carrera

April, The hardest part is over, just being able to meet someone face-to-face is gold. Do the visit and just "Chill" - then at the end of the visit tell him how impressed you are and hand him your portfolio and ask for a second meeting to discuss joining the firm - that's all you really need to do.

Good luck!

Sep 29, 14 8:59 am  · 
 ·