Archinect
anchor

Applying: US or UK?

Flash7755

Hi guys I'm an architecture student looking to apply for top architectural undergrad universities and right now the two schools that i am deciding between are Cornell university and Bartlett UCL. I would like to hear from some expert on which one to pick assuming that i get accepted by both.

I have went to the cornell summer camp for high school students and honestly i didn't quite enjoy it as much. Why? well its because i found the cornell way of architecture way to practical for me. by this i meant that everything is some what traditional, starting with the fact that there is much more emphasis on the function, material, and ergonomics(which i know arevery important in architecture) but somewhat lacking in terms of the design (traditional/conservative yet practical yenno ) anyways i didn't enjoy this aspect of it and an architect i really look up to is Zaha with her post modernism, which i did not experience during the camp. However, UCL Bartlett is less of that and more focused on the fine art renderings, flexibility, and design of conceptual architecture while caring less about the ergonomics etc.

i totally realize this but i have always believed in the concept of becoming a wild beast (in terms of creativity/ design) and then getting tamed (then studying the rules of architecture more: setting boundaries on which design is more practical). because of this, i would prefer the choice of going to UCL for the design and then back into the US for masters in places such as Columbia etc where designs are less "imaginative." so conclusion: design --> Practical