Archinect
anchor

thesis topic...... need help

areem

so for my thesis I decide to go for, transforming substandard living to revitalize the area and encourage sound growth. I like in pakistan.... in my city there is a piece of land illegally occupied by lower governemnt workers. my plan is to establish housing community for them a low cost sustainable method.

but projects like carr square village imn 1942 a low rise community for people.

my instuctors are like that its really boring and there is a lot of work already done and failed too.... :-/ should i cange my topic or just go with it ?

Sep 15, 14 1:18 pm
thompson's gazelle

I am a very inexperienced designer, but as a recent graduate from a master's program, I would like to share my thoughts (even though I only have an undergrad theses lol). What makes a thesis a thesis, in other words a project a project, not a mere design problem/solution, is in my opinion needs to root from some other kind of problem or interest. The reason you're facing this obstacle is probably because you already have a clear answer in your mind (which is very generic and boring for me as well to be honest).  Now, your take on the housing issue seems too superficial; ah there's a housing problem, so let's provide nicer housing.

I know nothing about Pakistan, but I'm quite sure that there are complicated layers of social/political/economic/historical issues behind the illegal squatters in your city. Try to do an in-depth research about the issues I mentioned above (and more) and try to develop an argument based on your research. Look into zoning, government policies, ongoing development projects nearby, land ownership, city structure, and etc. as well. Imagine that you're a professor and you need to write an interesting syllabus for your next studio course. What would you make your students do?