Archinect
anchor

Harvard GSD MLA portfolio material?

9093bsbk

Hello Archinect,

I am in my last year of studies of my BLA. I am applying for my Masters in Landscape Architecture (MLA) Degree within the coming months, and among my top selections of potential schools is the Harvard Graduate School of Design.

To anybody who either has studied at the GSD, or has applied for an MLA in the past, I would love to ask a couple of questions about application portfolio material.

1. Student Work

I have a body of work that I built over the past three years that I have used to build my current portfolio. Based on the caliber of GSD student work that I have seen, my work is indefinitely not as sophisticated. Where I study, learning how to use rendering software is an entirely self-guided process, so at this point my work is a mixture of hand renderings and photoshop work (plans, sections, photomontages/perspectives, etc.)

In regards to subject matter, my best work I want to include in my portfolio covers the topics of parklet design, gravel pit rehabilitation, landfill reclamation, and visual representation.

What I would basically like to know is the level of sophistication of previous student work required by the GSD in order to be considered. I can indefinitely go back and refine my work, but I would like to have an idea of how intensively I should go about doing that.

2. Professional Work

I have just completed an internship where I was able to participate in master planning, graphic representation, mapping, and contract administration. I built quite a body of work through this experience and produced alot of graphics.