Archinect
anchor

IDP Hours at Design Office, not Architectural Firm?

CLOCLO

I'm a 4th year student, working at a design office. We develop the project, from schematic design to construction documents and are fully involved in all aspects of design/construction. We primarily deal with residential and a couple of our projects are under construction currently. However, no one in the office has a license and we send our drawings out to a different architect to serve as the architect of record.

In addition, I am only working there on a part-time basis and paid by check, "off the books" so to speak.

My main questions are:

A) Can I still earn IDP credit even though there are no licensed architects? Is it fine if the architect that stamps the drawings signs my IDP hours?

B) Would there be an issue of getting hours considering I am working "off the books"

I don't really like the situation as everything seems sketchy but I want to know if the time I've spent here has been wasted and if I should get out and find someplace with a licensed architect.

Sep 2, 14 12:50 am
shellarchitect

Does "off the books" mean that you are a contract employee w/o any taxes or other benefits?

If so I believe you can still get IDP under one of the optional work settings (the amount is capped) but you should also find a "real" job.  The company is probably familiar with IDP and should want to help you, or at least have no reason not to.     

Sep 2, 14 8:26 am  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

Is the office located in NY?

If so, look at the NYS requirements for what type of entity will be recognized by the state as a professional entity... 

an LLC will not be recognized while a PC or PLLC will... NCARB may recognize your experience, but the State will not. 

Sep 2, 14 10:53 am  · 
 · 
x intern