Archinect
anchor

Is 0.3 ghz a big difference for a Intel quad core i7 ?

dyao

Hello All, 

I am an Architecture student who is looking for a new laptop(the new 15" macbook pro). 

I have narrowed down my selection between a laptop that carries an quad- core 2.5 ghz Intel i7 CPU, and another that has an quad- core 2.8 ghz Intel i7.

The two are $180 different, but my concern is, does the one that has 2.5 ghz good enough to do presentation quality renderings in a reasonable time?

Or I should pay the extra $180 to upgrade to a 2.8 ghz CPU?

Some people told me that the 0.3 ghz clock speed difference will not be that obvious, which means I could save up the $180.

Thank You Very Much     

Aug 22, 14 2:04 pm

Nope... not really...

Number of cores.... cache size proportion, amount of RAM and Graphics card and its graphic memory makes more difference. Optimization of the operating system.... cleaning up registries, defragging and getting rid of adware/spyware/malware and viruses/trojans/rootkits and worms from your computer will make a bit of difference in performance. 

.3 GHz but same number of cores and same size cache won't make much difference but if you are buying a cpu, think of the dollars per GHz you are paying and number of cores. A 4 core cpu at 3 GHz is like a single core at 12 GHz (sort of....)

Get the most bang for your dollar's worth. Most L1 cache and most L2 cache and L3 cache (if there is any... anymore). Since you are comparing an i7. Compare cache between the two. We are talking like Sandybridge vs. Ivybridge.