Archinect
anchor

Working in Dubai or Qatar

dirodl

Hi All,

I'm a recent graduate from USC undergrad, working in big corporate firm in Los Angeles right now.

I was wondering what my chances would be if I were to find a junior position in Dubai or Qatar after having approx. 2 yrs of experience.

Based on my reseach I learned that there are alot more things that matter besides my portfolio / experience... so below are information about myself:

Nationality: American
Experience: 2 years
Education: University of Southern California, Bachelors degree in Architecture.
Ethnicity: Korean

It'd be great if you guys can share some information about working in Middle East in general-
How hard is it to find a job as a junior,
Salary ranges,
Living experience,
etc..

Thank you all in advance.

Aug 18, 14 1:58 pm
dirodl

OK... not quite what I'm looking for but interesting.

Aug 18, 14 2:27 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

you find that interesting? Good, you are probably the right fit for employers there. Just do some sexy forms without giving a rats ass about anything else. 

I digress, though.

Quite frankly (and sorry for the harshness), but youd make more bank there if you were white. , thats they way they do it. You will learn a lot, if you learn to ignore bunch of social stuff. you can make a lot of money, but be careful, the rents are much higher than LA (unless you decide to live with the workers that build your shit)

Aug 18, 14 2:51 pm  · 
 · 
CD.Arch
You aren't going to be able to work in either of those places without labor issues etc so honestly Curt's articles should be something you take into account. Also, I was thinking you should take more into account which country's infrastructure needs more work... That's where you'll find work.
Aug 18, 14 3:00 pm  · 
 · 
chatter of clouds

dirodl,