Archinect
anchor

Interview in Cincy with A/E firm

Catcow

Last week I interviewed with a mid-sized A/E firm located near downtown Cincinnati, where I'm originally from. It's for an entry-level architect position. When I was speaking with the Sr. VP of the architecture division, I brought up my registration with NCARB to do IDP hours, as well as the fact that I'm an Associate AIA member. This is my second real interview for a job since I graduated with my M.Arch four years ago. Considering how things have been, and how I haven't given up, despite taking some temporary jobs in the meantime, I feel like this has been an accomplishment.

Anyway, the Sr. VP I met with didn't offer me the position, but was going to take in some more candidates, since he wasn't looking to fill the position right away (not until mid-September). I have sent a thank-you email and card to him just after the interview, and he recommended I contact him every couple weeks. Any other advice to boosting my candidacy?

Aug 14, 14 4:41 pm
Carrera

Tom, I’m a 40 year career owner (retired now), file this under “Desperate Times Desperate Measures”. I once was interviewing newer guys for a position and while interviewing this one guy there was a lull in the conversation and he sat up and said “I know I’m new and you seem uncertain but I know I can do this thing, how would it be if I came on for a month to prove my value for free, no strings attached?” I hired him on the spot and he stayed on for quite a while.

From my point of view people just getting started were a gamble to me, they often rang “Money Out – No Money Back” to me. It’s a lot more expensive than you can imagine bringing new people in and most thinking hell if he doesn’t work out I’ll just can the guy. But it’s more complicated than that, especially today.