Archinect
anchor

designing procedure? constructional possibilities?

kalai

alright.. im a second year student in architecture.. and we have been given with the problem of designing a church.. so, we have been exposed to two ways of working out our design problems..  the first way is to think of a form based concept and work on its forms.. then compose the spaces inside it.. the second method is to play with spaces and compose them with respect to their functionality.. and later derive at the forms.. now, i wanted to know if there was any other way to work on designing.. a new way or procedure.. id like to know more.. and further, if i choose the former way of working, and i am inspired by a form derived from a complex crumpled piece of paper, how do i proceed? how to i know if it would be possible? do help me out.. im learning pieces by pieces and am entering the world of architecture.. and i am looking for help.. id like to know more about designing, for i am just a beginner.. 

Aug 13, 14 12:19 pm
Carrera

I posted this recently elsewhere:

Get Problem Seeking by William Pena it’s an industry programming Bible. Used it for 30 years from church projects to a $750,000,000. New Urbanism Community Project. It teaches a technique to draw-out and define programs and breakdown the program into manageable parts and ideas that should be explored during the design. It organizes and categorizes things into Goals-Facts-Concepts-Needs-Problems. It’s an off-shoot from Disney Imagineering. There is another book called the same thing authored by HOK Inc. but I have not read it.

First you must Seek The Problem, then State The Problem then start the drawings to Solve The Problem. I think you will find this process, as I did. enlightening and liberating from the puzzle of design.