Archinect
anchor

Seeking M. Arch I programs...

graphemic

I received a BA  in Anthropology from Reed College in 2013, with the intent of pursuing an M. Arch I a few years after graduation. Well, the time has come and I am drowning in flashy websites and flashier rhetoric.

I know the rankings, the talk, and the tuitions, yet I am still left with a feeling that I don't really know which program is best for me. I am curious if the community here could suggest ways to "get to know a school" remotely. I plan on visiting NY and California (my geographic preferences) before applying, but want to be doing research now. 

I know my primary weakness is not being willing to sort through marketing rhetoric. I am also not sure how I can "know" what I would like to study, simply because I haven't studied architecture before. Is it simply a matter of slogging through course catalogs and faculty resumes? If, so, did anyone find a helpful way of organizing their research?

P.S. I currently work as a junior carpenter for a design/build firm, so I am definitely a fan of applied architecture and social responsibility; however, my education and creative practices are heavily based in critical theory and aesthetics. I plan on posting my current portfolio for critique at some point. I can do that sooner if it helps.

Aug 13, 14 12:23 pm

Hello!

I am pretty sure that you have already read this article, but just in case you haven't - http://www.archdaily.com/444902/the-best-us-architecture-schools-for-2014-are/

I have been looking for a graduate school recently and was overwhelmed by the plethora of choices. My teacher suggested first to write an essay about my goals and interests and then to seek programs that will be most compatible with it. Maybe this could be helpful for you also. Good luck with your research!

Aug 13, 14 2:50 pm  · 
 · 
graphemic

Yes, I am very familiar with the article and it's previous iterations.

I find it virtually useless, but thank you and good luck.