Archinect
anchor

First condominium project on my own, i have some questions

kalyopi

Hello there, this may, I graduated a 3 year program called Architectural Technology, in Canada, Quebec. And I just recently was offered the opportunity to design construction drawings for a 2 unit condominium building, that is two floors and smaller than 300 square meters. Which, to my knowledge, I can build without an architects seal. I have never done a project like this on my own and while i can execute the drawings, I am a little hesitant on the legal responsibility I can inherit. Here are some questions that i have:

1. How much should I charge?

2. Can i potentially be sued if something goes wrong? How can i avoid that?

3. In order to build the building and get it approved by the city, do I have to take responsibility for them (sign my name on the drawings)?

4. Should I have the client consult a structural engineer to size the members and foundation?

Those are all the questions I can think about right now. I would be very thankful if some of you could take the time to answer those questions and lead me through the right direction. 

Thanks alot,

Paul.

Aug 8, 14 2:21 pm
Non Sequitur

As far as I know, you cannot sell professional services without a licensed architect/P.eng stamp (perhaps there is a grey zone in the RBQ like in Ontario where a qualified individual holding a BCIN can produce documents for buildings under under 600sqM).

That does not however prevent you from drafting up a set of documents (as long as you don't refer to yourself as an architect) but you will need to inform the client that those docs are for information only and that they must seek a permit as owner... and thus take responsibility for the drawings. It's not necessarily legal, but given it's Quebec, I would not be surprised if this was common.