Archinect
anchor

Owner / developers lose $$$ and time

What happened ?....or what the "blank"...or what do mean it will cost another 2 million and come in 8 months late..."sound familiar"

How many owner developers ring these words after a project has gone south!...all to often!....WHY the construction industry "Builders" have thinned out on experienced bullet proof project management. All the software in the world and PM degree's will never replace the guy that has worked in and out of the trenches.

Hence, owners have not all warmed up to the practice of embracing true experienced Owners Rep/CMs...until its too late ....guys with decades of experience and that have worked on both sides of the isle and a little dirt under the nail.

Kenny Tsakanikas

LEED AP OR-CM

Aug 4, 14 12:47 pm
Carrera

Kenny, I once had a project were the cost estimate jumped from DD to CD and the owner used the words “Bait and Switch”.

I was an architect/cm and educator on the subject of estimating. Estimating can be like playing with a bunch of loose wires. I once wrote a one page primer for clients on the estimating phases and the percentage of accuracy and what we would do if something jumped.

There are three components to every line item on a standard construction estimate 1) The Quantity, derived from the take-off – Not that hard. 2) The labor unit cost – here’s the rub, be back to this at the end. 3) The unit material cost – not that hard, just look it up. It’s the labor cost that can’t be “looked-up” in a book or a software program. It takes experience with the product or component to evaluate install logistics that impact duration of labor. Along this same line as drawings progress through their stages the inexperenced learn more and add more in this regard creating undetectable creep in the estimate.