Archinect
anchor

No Arch/Art degree, can I get a job at a firm?

rosetea

I am a recent graduate of chemistry and I really want to get a M.Arch degree. However, I don't have any experience, not even studio courses.

Seeing that my job search for chemistry jobs is futile anyway, I figured I will also seek out office jobs at design firms since I want my foot in the door in the business.

If that sounds reasonable, I'm looking up Architectural firms at Houzz and am thinking of shooting emails to a bunch of them, in a letter that expresses interest in the best way possible. Would that be a waste of time?

In their profiles, some firms even have recent Arch graduates in an administrative role, so I don't even know if I should try...

Jul 26, 14 8:18 pm

Get an associates degree in office assistant and then you might get a job in that regard. You could also seek an MBA or something in the business administration, financing, etc. It is a place to start but not directly in architecture but a firm isn't all architecture. 

Remember, some architecture graduates have multiple degrees and some may have minors in addition to their major or double major. You don't know. 

What education additional to chemistry do you have. It can be community college, a minor, etc.?

There is even computer tech jobs, too. There are other types of positions but if you are familiar with consultant type businesses like architecture and how it works and understand how architecture firms work overall... you can get a job. If you are good on the phone and good at taking notes and so forth... you could be a receptionist/office assistant. College financial aid work experience in jobs could lend to help you get a job and you can then complete a minor or something that the firm could use you at a better paying position.

Jul 26, 14 8:47 pm  · 
 ·