Archinect
anchor

Working in NYC vs LA vs San Fran

mark lower

I'm a recent grad and I have family, friends, and connections in the cities I've mentioned. I will be looking for entry level work that requires little or no experience e.g. "junior architect" or "intern architect".

I have debt to pay so salary and cost of living is a factor but not the only factor. NYC and San Fran have higher rents than LA but if there are better opportunities and more interesting work in NY, I would go there despite the high rents.

I'll leave "interesting" as simply processed based design that has some degree of rigor to not go off of a tangent... as opposed to a more business like approach or renovation work.

please enlighten me on the salaries each city offers at entry level positions and what each city could offer or take away from a career in architecture. thank you.

Jul 13, 14 4:12 am

You're interested in architecture AND money? LOL

Jul 13, 14 1:20 pm  · 
 · 
mark lower

Miles I must say that your snarky comment is one of the most original and creative I've heard.

I'm guessing your parents take care of all the bills? And you MUST be that guy who tells yours peers that if they want to be compensated the shouldn't be architects? Because for you its not about the money... all about the heart, the soul, right? perhaps hollywood can take this concept and make the next big chick flick

You're a bad joke and an annoying cliche. You have nothing to contribute. Please just shut your mouth.  

Jul 13, 14 1:37 pm  · 
 · 
Janosh

Base it on the type of work you want to do.  Wherever you go, you won't make much money for the first couple years, and even if you tire of the hours in NY it is not bad experience to carry with you at your next stop on your career.  Pretty much everyone I graduated with started in NY, though only a fraction ended up staying there once they started facing the issues that come with families.

Jul 13, 14 4:10 pm  · 
 · 
zonker