Archinect
anchor

Singapore - Internship?

Wannabe1988

Hello hi, I am a third year student from Edinburgh University and is about to be away for a year out placement. As I am about to start working as an intern in SIngapore for about 5 months, I have been offered S$800 salary ($620 USD) per month and I wonder if that is a typical range given to intern? I have worked before in an architectural firm if that matters but as a visualiser - making digital 3d model and visualisations, for about 2-3 months.

According to my potential employer, they would soon have a new project going on in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and so, I am required to travel frequently between these two countries (Malaysia and Singapore are neighbouring countries and the airfare cost to travel between them usually cost around (S$42 or $43 USD).

So, is the S$800 an appropriate range or should I expect more since I am required to travel and there is no transport allowance. Would really appreciate any help that anyone could offer, thank you.

Jan 21, 11 4:15 am
BE

Nope. Too little. To my knowledge you won't survive in this place with $800, inclusive of food, shelter, transportation and flights. No way. Unless you are prepared to feed on only salty carbo and tap water, don't take this job. Interns go for at least twice that in the market here.

Jan 21, 11 9:55 am  · 
 · 
Wannabe1988

Dear BE, Thank you for your reply. I really appreciate it. My employer stated that for a duration of my internship, I would be posted at Kuala Lumpur, where my accommodation and food are taken care of since I have family here.

Just out of curiosity, have you worked in Singapore before and if yes, how much did you get if you don't mind me asking?

Jan 21, 11 10:13 am  · 
 · 
jason_sf

I couldn't help but notice your post, having just returned to the US after working in Singapore for the past year.