Archinect
anchor

Advice for Post Graduation Courses in Urban Studies and Real Estate Development

VB21

Hi,

I'm a recent graduate (B.Arch) from the School of Planning and Architecture Delhi, and have been working in a small but well-established architecture firm in Delhi for the last one year. I am considering going for my Masters next fall (2015). I have an interest in urban and real estate development. I completely subscribe to the 'architect as developer' model and would like to be doing that kind of work within the next 5-10 years.

In India, what one sees are builders, but not really developers. Very few actually have a long term vision of how they are contributing to the city's development. Its quick money versus value addition. Obviously, design takes a beating. It might be idealistic to try and bridge this schism, but I am keen to look at pursuing my masters in subjects that would give me a broader understanding of urbanism, development models and value addition through design while equipping me with practical tools and skills to juggle between the multiple hats that an architect-developer needs to wear, especially with regards to understanding the economic/finance side of it. Also important here, is that I plan to eventually, practice in India.

Some of the courses I'm looking at:

MCP (specialization in CDD) at MIT with Electives from the Center for Real Estate(CRE)

MUP (specialization in Real Estate and Development) at Harvard GSD with electives at the CRE 

MSRED at the CRE at MIT (unsure because it doesn't seem to be giving much emphasis on design and value addition as such) 

These are the courses that I am finding most promising, but I'd really like to get more opinions, not just on these courses and schools, but also on other possible subject combinations (UD for instance) that could make my masters more useful, with a certain goal in mind. I am a little concerned planning might mean digressing a little too much from my focus.