Archinect
anchor

Why won't employers hire interns without a lot of experience

mcamposid

Hello Everyone,

I graduated from an accredited Interior Design Program from Kean University in New Jersey last year and have been in search of a job ever since. I interned at a couple of small firms here and there, but I have been trying to land a good job at a prospective firm and so far all the jobs I've wanted to apply to won't accept resumes without at least a minimum of three  years of experience or more. How am I supposed to gain experience if no one wants to hire someone with less than a year of experience. I really love Interior Design and know the majority of the programs required in this field pretty well but it's desperate times like this (being jobless with a big student loan debt) that sometimes make me wonder if I should consider a new career path. Helpful advise anyone? 

Jul 9, 14 6:52 pm
gruen
Cuz employers can't afford the money to train you then have you go to another firm after 3 years. They want someone else to pay for the training.
Jul 9, 14 7:01 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

the like to hire architects first because they can kill two birds with one stone, work with interiors and architecture also... or so they assume

Jul 9, 14 7:02 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

Also, don't ask if they're hiring or not.. Just send them an email saying you're looking for work and attach your resume.  If you portfolio is any good, they will get back to you.

Jul 9, 14 7:03 pm  · 
 · 
mcamposid

I've applied to about 50 job postings the last year and I haven't gotten an offer yet, I think I have a decent portfolio but nothing so far. Maybe I should consider majoring in Architecture which seems to be doing better than Interior Design.

Jul 9, 14 7:23 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

you could go get a graduate degree in architecture.. But beware, this profession could be just as bad xD

Jul 9, 14 8:30 pm  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger