Archinect
anchor

seeking advice on landing a job with an architecture or engineering firm

Hello, 

I'm looking to begin a career in architecture, but I'm having a difficult time in finding an entry level position or an internship for that matter. I'm a 3rd year architecture student. I hold a diploma in AutoCAD drafting and have been developing a technical acumen in Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign, 3ds Max and SketchUp. I'm not just looking to work at an architecture firm, but I would like the chance to start this journey at an engineering firm(if possible). Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Chris

Jul 9, 14 4:32 pm
Anob

If you're focusing to get your feet into engineering, tailor you resume for engineering. When I was looking I had 6 different resumes which I tailored for every firm I was sending it to. For engineering I would for focus in CAD and MEP or Structure or whatever Revit. For a design architect I would only include SketchUp, Photoshop, AutoCAD, InDesign, etc... For a technical firm I would focus on AutoCAD and Architectural Revit.

To also be honest, architects usually hire Arch students and engineers usually hire engineering students. So it might be tougher for you. But I worked with a educated product designer in a arch firm before, so there's hope.

Good luck Bro!

Jul 9, 14 5:51 pm  · 
 · 

Hi Anob,

Tailoring my resume is good advice. However, my work experience has been outside of architecture or engineering for that matter. What would you suggest?

Chris

Jul 9, 14 7:16 pm  · 
 · 

can you describe your experience for us, what kind of jobs and what task you did in those jobs, Also important is your software skills for entry level work.

Nov 28, 18 7:11 am  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

I don't understand... why would you want to work in an engineering firm rather than an architectural firm? What do you hope to get out of your work experience?