Archinect
anchor

Deferred Fee plan - Viable?

bjsint

Hi!

I am a newbie developer operating in Los Angeles. I am focusing on High end, spec builds in the 2m-5m range(sale price)

I currently have a couple of options I am entertaining at the moment, all of which involve optioning off-market residential vacant land for under market value, offering the land owner a waterfall structure of deferred payment/equity or as joint venture partner.

This particular tactic a long with some experienced investors is what is allowing me to finance such an undertaking. 

My questions to you guys is first of all how would you structure payment - hourly - up front fee -  % construction costs? 

Im told more often than not fees are based on a % of construction costs? But then what about schematic, and pre development feasibility, is that factored in or done as a separate fee?

My main question is, rather than base the fee on percentage of construction costs, what about as a percentage of profit, much like an equity share? Would this be amenable? That way our incentives are aligned, and we mutual gain from and a value engineered design, and efficient construction process?

If this fee was deferred until the property is sold, it would obviously be slightly higher than if it had been paid up front to account for risk etc, but is this something you guys are likely to participate in? This would help give the project the best chance of being profitable and make way for bigger future developments with more confident investors and loan officers.

What sot of fees would you ask for, and what is your preferred structure?

The houses i hope to build will be around 3500sqft.

Thanks!

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts..

Jul 8, 14 2:35 am
Volunteer