Archinect
anchor

NewSchool of Architecture + Design vs Pratt

shmal

I was accepted into a variety of M.Arch programs, but was able to narrow it down to NSAD and Pratt. I studied Mechanical Engineering as an undergrad and had a fairly low gpa, so I felt that art schools were my best option.

NSAD is in-state and tuition is only 20k per year. I've heard that it's not the best school and you pretty much get what you put into it, but I like that it's cheap and I would be able to work while in school.

Pratt was my first choice but it's across the county and tuition is 40k. Pratt has a much better reputation and I would love to go there, but I'm not sure if it's worth the price difference.

Jul 7, 14 5:33 pm
Non Sequitur

20k a year is not cheap.

Jul 8, 14 8:15 am  · 
 · 
pnj02c

Was in a similar situation choosing between Pratt and NewSchool. In my view, I think overall Pratt is going to be the better situation overall but it really is going to depend on where you plan on ending up as an architect. 

Obviously living/going to school in downtown San Diego is preferable to Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn, and its not even close. San Diego is also significantly cheaper to live and has better weather and probably a better overall quality of life especially if you aren't used to living in New York City. A lot of the architecture instructors at various community colleges around Southern California seem to have gotten their MArch at NewSchool (seems really common), however most of them were already licensed and practicing. They do, however, seem eager to send their pupils there and many of the community colleges act as de facto 'feeder programs' to NSAD.