Archinect
anchor

B.Arch vs. M.Arch?

Mitlumkne

Hi. I'm new to Archinect but would you please help me out if you don't mind? And if I break a rule, please forgive me.

I'm currently enrolled at UCLA and thinking of majoring in Architectural Studies (it's not B.Arch but Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies) when I become a junior. However, since this program at UCLA is not accredited, if I graduate from UCLA, I'll have to go to graduate school to get a M.Arch to be licensed.

After a lot of search, I've found out that Cornell offers an accredited 5-year architecture program (B.Arch).

So my question is, in architecture world (particularly employment), which is considered better? Bachelor of Architecture or Master of Architecture?

I'm thinking of going to Harvard or Columbia for graduate school if I graduate from UCLA. If I transfer to Cornell, I don't need to go to graduate school.

I'm a student and prospective architect so if I'm wrong, please correct me. And I really appreciate any opinion/advice from who has an experience. Thanks in advance!

Jul 6, 14 11:12 am
DeTwan

So my question is, in architecture world (particularly employment), which is considered better?

There is no employment in the architecture world. I would reconsider architecture as a whole, or at least make sure you are okay being poor and miserable the rest of your life.

I would go into engineering or some STEM program.

Just my .02cents

Jul 6, 14 11:47 am  · 
archi_gram

This guy is being extra

Jul 28, 20 7:38 am  · 
1  · 
ithink

Lets give Mitiumkne a break after only architects know what its really like. Well mr. Mitiumkne if employment is what you have in mind it is terrible like DeTwan said, but it goes in cycles just about every 10 years there is a major layoff event over all.