Archinect
anchor

Architecture to Structural Engineering. Would appreciate your view!

takachan

Hi people,

I'm somewhat confused and I would like to know your opinion, since I have nobody I could possibly ask... I'm an Architecture student from Spain. I finished my architecture studies last month (6-year studies, bachelor + masters' degree), but I lost all my illusions on the way, I'm really down. I've always been a good student, engineered-oriented, and became increasingly disappointed with such time consuming (and arbitrary) studies. My school is known as one of the toughest, and it has payed its toll. Right now, I want to focus my career on structural engineering, the only thing that has really captivated me throughout these hard years  (and forget about drawing, design, autocad-monkey-pinching).

I've been offered a one year masters' degree (architectural structures) in Madrid and another one in london (structural engineering, out of civil engineering). I'm sure I'd love both of them, but they are expensive and I would like to make the right choice, since I feel I'm running out of time (lol I'm 25 but you know what I mean, it's about time you'd get your own money...). I would like to know if:

1.- has anybody made that turn, from Architecture to Structural Engineering?

2.- is it worth/necessary to take a masters' degree in structural engineering, or is it a waste of money/time? London, Madrid? :) (first sound great, not sure on quality; second is good quality; different approach civil engineering vs architectural)

3.- or perhaps can I actually focus in structures with my bsc+msc in architecture? In Spain, I can do that; not sure abroad.

Please, do take five minutes if you could enlighten me a little bit, I would really appreciate it if you could. Thanks a lot.

Jun 30, 14 7:30 pm
chigurh