Archinect
anchor

Changing Profession? - The highs and lows of architecture

mathewwebb

I'm sitting in an airport about to board a flight to Atlanta. I am an architect and I am off to an anonymous mall in Georgia where I will spend the next today  day measuring, documenting and memorializing a nondescript space made of gypsum wall board, concrete and acoustic ceiling tile. I will photograph every square inch of the unit as if it were the greatest archaeological find of the  twenty-first century. I will describe the space in such detail that those without sight could imaging it as if it were their childhood home. 

On my return to the office I will turn all this information into drawings that will be used to fit out the space for a retail chain, a roll out.  After the store has been designed and built it will be indistinguishable from any other store in any other mall across the country. And then, in about two years time the space will be refurbished again with a new tenant.  All remnants of my effort and care will be erased and forgotten.

There is a certain pleasure, for me , in the meticulous documenting of a space it is like putting together a giant mathematical jigsaw puzzle. There is a moment of satisfaction when the measurements take shape and a picture is formed on the paper.

But despite this after many years in this profession working for architects big and small I am consciously deciding to make a change. I have worked on too many projects where budget have been "value engineered" or erased, or designs have been crippled by building departments, onerous code or ill informed clients. So as a partial farewell I would like to go through an edited selection  of my most memorable architectural jobs in an effort to enlighten some, empathize with others and deter many:

JOB #1 - The Classical Training