Archinect
anchor

Tips on designing personal home

matt.simon

Hello all,

I'm not professional architect not am I an architecture major so please feel free to tell me to "fig off". I am actually a physicist, and I've always like to sit arond and design my ideal house. I don't work on anything else , and I'm not trying to transtion into architecture.

My main question is about the building material used when designing a house. I would like my house to feel strong and open (light?) at the same time. I've seen plenty of brick houses with fanatastic designs, but I don't really want to use bricks, although this would provide me with a strong house. 

I imagine a wood house can be made to be open and light, but it almost seems too flimsy. 

Is there a any material, that can achieve both ideas? Is is better to just delegate certain parts of the house carry out specific functions. Like have a brick fireplace, which is strong and sturdy, and then wood all around that area to provide that idea of light and openess. 

Any comments and suggestions are very welcome. 

Thanks. 

Jun 25, 14 1:51 pm
curtkram

SIPS!

Jun 25, 14 2:02 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

it's a 4-year old thread... stick to making terrible and sexist comments involving chess.

Jun 23, 18 8:55 pm  · 
 · 
anonitect

Sounds as if you need to do some reading on domestic architecture. I would recommend Witold Rybczynski, who has written lots of good stuff that's aimed at the layperson.  The Most Beautiful House in the World, his story about building a home for himself, would probably be of interest. The more you know about things like construction, materials, and the history of housing, the more fun it will be to sit around doodling. You'll just get smart-assery here.

Jun 25, 14 2:23 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

I would suggest you hire an Architect. 

Would you trust the results of a thermodynamics experiment conducted by a chef? No? Then why do you think a physicist can build a quality home?

Jun 25, 14 3:12 pm  ·