Archinect
anchor

Career advice for a worried architect student

Hey all. So I'm a second year architecture student at junior college that offers an AS degree. My goal is to graduate from JC with my AS degree in architectural drafting and technologies and transfer to Cooper Union in New York for my undergrad. I understand how little of a chance statistically I have of getting into this school so If I didn't get into Cooper Union I still want to move to New York City and pursue my undergrad there. I have a 3.8 GPA. Over 5 years work experience in many areas of construction; high end home building, roofing, electrical, framing, etc. so I have better understanding of what I'm designing than most my peers and it shows. Basically, I love the idea of architecture and want to travel and continue my education but recently I got a seasonal position at Anheuser-Busch. This job has little to nothing to do with my education and experience but eventually I can move up and maybe fill an engineering position if I change my major and dropped my dream of continuing school and traveling. If I change my major and stick with this job I would have the security of a 401k, pension, full benefits, and steady paycheck (although I make more doing electrical under the table now) that will change with time. I'm just wondering what you seasoned architects would do if you were my age (25). Would you hit the road and travel and stick with architecture maybe try to work as a freelance architect with the freedom to work for who and when you want or stick with the more secure route that you are not passionate about?

Jun 23, 14 4:56 pm
x-jla

Unless you are passionate about architecture stay clear.  Its not a good career but it is a wonderful field.  If you can live without it then do so, if you cant then go for it.

Jun 23, 14 6:47 pm  · 
 ·