Archinect
anchor

Question about office hierachy

Onebyone

Hi, I am a M.Arch student, currently interning at a mid-size office. (around 30+) This is my first time working in the states, and I am confused about the office hierarchy, or more precisely the working relationship between the intern and juniors. As an intern you follow what a junior architect say?or the boss of your team? 

The junior architect (with +1year experience) has been giving me tasks as all other people were away, but after they come back it feels very weird to have tasks from her. Quite often her opinion doesn't match with the boss and the partner at the end, and it's a small enough team (4 people) to work directly with the boss. I have 2+ years experience in asia and am in the final year in the graduate study, and the junior has been in the office for a year after her undergraduate study. I do respect her experience at the firm, but I am having hard time because of her lack of time management skills. 

Jun 17, 14 10:48 pm
SpatialSojourner

Do whatever moves along the project, working as a cohesive team. Ultimately, you're there to appease the top architect in charge. If she's like do interior elevations but you think wall sections are more important for a permit set, discuss it.  Make sure to be diplomatic about it like, "That's a good idea but I think wall sections would probably be more beneficial." If that doesn't work, always ask the architect in charge what is the most imperative tasks that need to be knocked out so you both will know clearly what's on the agenda. In my experience, you're both basically in the trenches together. Her perceived hierarchy will fade should fade with time. 

Jun 17, 14 11:31 pm  · 
 · 
gwharton

Who signs your paychecks? That's your boss.

Jun 19, 14 11:59 am  · 
 · 

^ Yeah, talk to Deborah in accounting.

When you're at the bottom, everyone is the boss.

Jun 19, 14 12:04 pm  · 
 · 
RemIsActuallyAnAutobot