Archinect
anchor

Marketing in Architecture

backbay

Maybe its just because I'm a student, but I rarely see architecture firms marketed (small or large) in the way that a lot of other businesses are. I mean, if you asked the average person to name a few architecture firms, what would they say? They wouldn't say anything.

Think of it like this... whenever there's a service you use or a product you buy, there's a brand associated with it. I mean, for crying out loud, there are carpet cleaning companies that everyone knows about. I can't even remember the last time I ever heard of anyone saying "yeah, I'm looking to get my carpets cleaned." I hear people saying they want their kitchen remodeled more often than that!

Computer companies brand, food companies brand, furniture companies brand, random services brand... architecture firms? Nothing. Well, at least the smaller guys.

Why is this? Dunkin Donuts has convinced the entire country that they need to buy a coffee and a muffin before they go to work even though Stop & Shop sells it all cheaper. Why can't architects convince people that they need better design? Why is it that people go "yeah, Jordan's has good furniture at a good price" but no one says that about architects? People buy appliances based on brand... they buy software based on brad... hardware... everything.

When car manufacturers design cars, their logo is stamped right on it. You know its made by Ford, and if you like how the Mustang looks you're more inclined to make a Ford car your next car. Cars are everywhere and they cost a ton... thats barely any different than buildings

Of course the big names are branded... "oh, thats a Gehry building". But outside for the huge names, there's a lot more built and the world, and most of its done by people no one has ever heard of. Why is it that smaller firms just seem like holes in the wall? Why is it that when someone wants an architect, outside of asking people they just hit the phone book?