Archinect
anchor

Iconic Architecture versus architecture as icons

Gayathri MR

Hi!! I am a fifth year architecture student and I am doing mu Dissertation on Iconic Architecture versus Architecture as icons.Its basically a critical analysis of buildings which became icon over the period of time and buildings which are built as icons.For that i need to take two iconic buildings which have a common base and analyse the factors that made them iconic. and finally conclude on the importance of context based designs which made buildings iconic.I was thinking of Taking Burj al arab and burj khalifa. but i need much better examples. It will be better if both the buildings are in the same context/place;  one built as iconic and other which became icon due to its design quality on its own. i need help!

Jun 9, 14 10:55 pm
accesskb

Burj Anything *puke*

Try the Taj Mahal

Jun 10, 14 2:16 am  · 
 · 
Medians

Stay out of Dubai, the most cliched thesis topics look at Dubai, if you do anything in Dubai your jury and critics will just roll their eyes. Focusing on major cities, some thoughts, maybe not good but Paris, the Eiffel vs the new development in La Defense. New York you could do the met and the guggenheim, the empire state building vs the statue of liberty. In London the Gerkin and the Tower Bridge. 

Jun 10, 14 4:07 am  · 
 · 
Menona

I think this is a worthwhile idea.  I don't know that you could really address the topic described without mentioning or using Dubai in some fashion.  I think the idea of contrasting the building that becomes icon vs, the building built AS icon is interesting.  It's simple but with a really fine opportunity for nuance.  You can say plenty about it and fine tune it with real precision.