Archinect
anchor

Which architectural 3D softwares are most suitable for the design process?

renynn

I'm a 4th year architecture student. I've always had problems with designing using pen and paper. I can do it, but it never fully helps me when I want to have a detailed design. 

(I have two projects this semester. One is a residential complex, and the other one is a school.) 

I'm familiar with Google SketchUp and AutoCad, and I've learned a bit of the Revit software too. 

Many of my professors in university tell me that AutoCad and Revit are great softwares for presentation of a project, but are not good choices for the design phase. 
They recommend using pen and paper for designing, and then moving to those softwares only for presentation. 

On the other hand, the problem with Google SketchUp is that it's not as detailed as I would like it to be. 

So, which software(s) is/are mostly used in the designing phase of a project?

Jun 8, 14 6:29 pm
accesskb

depends on what you like to design..  Any of sketchup, rhino, revit, autocad will suffice if your designs lean towards rectangular, box-like form mainly   If you want to be more experimental and prefer fluid forms etc, I say sketch your ideas quickly on paper, then jump to a poly modelling software like 3DS Max,  Maya or MODO etc (I've used them all and personally prefer MODO because it is very intuitive and seems like they really thought about every tool in there)  You can use Rhino (and I depended on it and struggled with it during school) but I think it isn't well suited during design where you need to push/pull/cut/experiment quick.  After I'm done with design and experimenting on a poly modeller like MODO, I either send it straight for 3dprinting/fabrication of models, or export it as a nurbs file to use in Rhino for further cleanup before fabrication or documentation.

Jun 8, 14 9:35 pm  · 
 · 

You've only wasted four years. Quit now before you waste the rest of your life.