Archinect
anchor

Reasons to not pursue this career path and major.

architectureisforidiots

For some reason, I felt like my IQ dropped points after spending all those days and nights in studio.  The dean's statement that students should be working nights and weekends should have been the red flag.  My interests were in history and physics when I entered college.  I just fell into the major and it never felt right.  I was a talented artist but not as creative as the other students.  There were many times where I just wanted to leave the major but I just didn't believe in quitting once I started.  But everyone was so sociable and loved to talk and the teachers loved talking about star architects.  I guess it was  kind of entertaining.  

I didn't listen to my gut and leave in year 2.  So here are reasons to leave this major before you waste too much time in it.  Because it just gets worse and worse.  It never gets better. 

1. The 5 year program and long road to licensure becomes a prison sentence.  
  2. In many other fields, young, smart, and educated graduates are given opportunities.  As a young architect, older architects look at you like you are too young.  Lets face it.  The old are intimidated by young people and keep them in place by telling them they are too young and unqualified.  A quicker licensure path will allow young graduates to compete fairly with the older architects that want to intimidate the competition.
  3. Don't fall for the you can be Frank Gehry too nonsense.  Leave that to the wanna be actors and musicians. 
  4. Pay is unbelievably low.  Without a license, opportunities are few.  You will work long and hard.  
  5. This skill set is so unique and the education is so focused your skills will not be transferable.  No hr recruiter will look at your experience for any business, administrative, sales, accounting, finance, etc position.  You will be pigeon holed.  You will have to go back to school and study something else.