Archinect
anchor

M.Arch with no art/architecture experience

beccaz

I am a rising senior studying finance at Clemson University but don't enjoy business classes and only choose the field because of it's stability and generality. I have always dreamed of studying architecture and have strong passion for it. I have zero art background, I have a lot of math background, a vast appreciation for art, history, and culture, but was never taught how to be creative and have never worked in a creative/art focused environment (although I'm confident I would enjoy it), so have no clue how to start a portfolio.

Where do people with no art/architecture background start in the portfolio creating process? I have read on the forum that grad schools mostly look for creativity and a knowledge of three dimensional objects in the portfolio for non-architectural background applicants. Would it be necessary to take some sort of art classes/workshops to start, or should I just try to create some works on my own? (no-prior personal art experience although I truly love art and architecture)  

Since I have no architecture background, would it be impossible to get a graduate assistant-ship position?

I am also interested in humanitarian work in architecture, (work in developing countries, after natural disasters, etc). Are there any programs that have focuses in this type of work? I have learned of a few firms that do this type of work, but don't know much about them. 

Considering my lack of art and architecture background, but my love for design, history, and preservation of culture, would it be wise to consider a masters in architecture, or are there other related fields that I should look into?

May 26, 14 11:46 pm
monosierra