Archinect
anchor

Which is Better? The Low Stress or High Stress Job?

straightlines

It seems like an easy question, right? Not so in architecture...

I graduated with an M.Arch I from a top-tier school last year. I am currently working for an architect who used to employ 6 people and have several projects going on (they've since been built) and for various reasons (personal, recession, etc.) had to shrink the practice down to a part-time designer and me. When I came here 6 months ago there were a couple large projects in the works (small city masterplan, a resort overseas) which were promising but we didn't end up getting the commissions. There's a couple things on the horizon but nothing currently, so I am mostly just working on the website, and doing more personal assistant - type stuff - i.e. not practicing architecture. 

BUT  I've started getting some of my own design jobs ( where I actually have a budget and get to make something) since graduating and my current boss lets me take time off to do them since we don't have a lot going on in the office. When I am here I only work about 7 hours a day, and basically come and go as I please.

My classmates at larger firms may or may not be doing satisfying work but are expected to put in the 50-60 hours a week regardless, leaving no time or energy for themselves, let alone other projects.

So should I keep the opportunity to be financially supported by a low-stress job while I try to build my own brand, or is the time spent at an unproductive office just wasted when I could be getting the experience in how an active firm is run?

What are people's opinions and experiences starting out?

May 22, 14 10:53 pm
cg_8